Local Election Results 2017

Local Council Elections May 2017

The Green Party now has TWO County Councillors in Dorset!

Dr Jon Orrell was elected on May 4th 2017 for Weymouth Town. Jon joins Clare Sutton who was re-elected for Rodwell in Weymouth with 48% of the vote. Having two councillors means that Jon and Clare have been able to secure places on committees which will greatly increase their influence.

Clare Sutton, Campaign manager Caz Dennett and Jon Orrell at the count

Clare Sutton, Campaign Manager, Caz Dennett, and Jon Orrell at the count May 2017.

Elsewhere, we had some promising results, particularly in Bridport, which will stand us in good stead for future elections. And in a Borough Council by-election on the same day in Westham East, Weymouth, Caz Dennett was just 35 votes short of a victory in a tight 4-way contest.

A big THANKS! to everyone who helped on the campaigns and all the candidates who stood.

You can find all the county council election results on the whizzy Dorsetforyou website here


The results where we stood were as follows:

Dorset County Council

Rodwell                                               Turnout: 41%

Matthew Hall                        514         Labour

David Hastings                      901         Conservative

Jill Hordle                              195         UKIP

Clare Sutton                         1,474      Green (elected)

Weymouth Town            Turnout: 35.40%

Francis Drake                       206         UKIP

Christine James                   387         Liberal Democrat

Jon Orrell                             810         Green (elected)

Jason Osborne                     698         Conservative

Ann Weaving                       464         Labour

Beaminster                                        Turnout: 46.27%

Peter Allen                           848         Liberal Democrat

Mark Gage                          178         Labour

Neil Judd                             170         Green

Rebecca Knox                     2,018     Conservative (elected)

Bridport                                               Turnout: 42.69%

Robert Casey                     490         Green

Kelvin Clayton                   810         Green

Phylida Culpin                       783         Labour

Keith Day                             2,415     Conservative (elected)

Sarah Horniman                   1,840     Liberal Democrat

Ros Kayes                            2,490     Liberal Democrat (elected)

Bill Mellish                            690         Labour

Mark Roberts                        2,244     Conservative

Chickerell & Chesil Bank              Turnout: 35.30%

Carol Byrom                         226         Green

James Canning                    348         Liberal Democrat

Jean Dunseith                      1,624     Conservative (elected)

Lynda Kiss                           283         Labour

Dorchester                                         Turnout: 39.24%

Richard Biggs                       2,799     Liberal Democrat (elected)

Vicki Black                           581         Green

Andy Canning                      2,871     Liberal Democrat (elected)

Gerald Duke                        1,781     Conservative

Ian Gosling                          1,730     Conservative

Ken Huggins                        265         Green

Geoffrey Markham                311         UKIP

Claudia Sorin                       983         Labour

Barry Thompson                   775         Labour

Linden Lea                                          Turnout: 41.60%

Nick Ireland                        1,317     Liberal Democrat (elected)

Richard Shrubb                   198         Labour

Peter Stein                         1,299     Conservative

Rebekah Webb                    127         Green

Marshwood Vale                             Turnout: 40.84%

Chit Chong                          263         Green

Joy Everington                     284         Labour

Steve Trevethan                 538         Liberal Democrat

Daryl Turner                       1,730     Conservative (elected)

Sherborne Rural                               Turnout: 47.25%

Matt Hall                              1,535     Liberal Democrat

Mary Penfold                        1,657     Conservative (elected)

Andrew Spring                     130         Green

Sherborne Town                              Turnout: 45.57%

Jon Andrews                         1,493     Liberal Democrat (elected)

Nick Boothroyd                      126         Labour

Robert Gould                         1,471     Conservative

Pam Rosling                          103         Green

Three Valleys                                    Turnout: 39.28%

Peter Barton                         349         Green

Jill Haynes                           1,853     Conservative (elected)

Janine Miller                         301         Labour

David Taylor                         720         Liberal Democrat

Broadwey                                           Turnout: 35.30%

Kevin Brookes                      1,128     Conservative (elected)

Ryan Dean Hope                  283         Liberal Democrat

David Smith                        168         Green

Mark Tewkesbury                904         Labour

Lodmoor                                              Turnout: 46.20%

Anthony Ferrari                  1,702     Conservative (elected)

Brian Heatley                     184         Green

David Mannings                  1,083     Liberal Democrat

Thomas Taylor                   392         Labour

Portland Harbour                            Turnout: 33.50%

Kerry Baker                        879         Conservative

Len Herbert                        145         Green

Kate Wheller                      1,282     Labour and Cooperative (elected)

Portland Tophill                               Turnout: 32.20%

Katharine Garcia                 995         Conservative (elected)

Paul Kimber                        923         Labour and Cooperative

Claudia Moore                     149         Green

Westham                            Turnout: 35.80%

James Askew                       158         Green

Shenis Cant                        791         Conservative

David Best Harris                 1,155     Liberal Democrat (elected)

Kieron Womble                    488         Labour

Weymouth & Portland Borough Council

Westham East                   Turnout: 38.7%

Mike Byatt                          294         Conservative (elected)

Caz Dennett                       260         Green Party

David Greenhalf                   236         Labour

Andreas Scheffler                270         Liberal Democrat

Bridport Town Council

Bridport South                  Turnout: 37.94%

Nicholas Boothroyd              234         Labour

Philip Colfox                         298         Liberal Democrat

Andrew Jeffries                     200         Green Party

Barbara Vousden                  432         Conservative (elected)